Generally, settings should not be reset during an update (over the network).
The code clearly specifies copying the setting values from the old version of the ini file to the new one. It works for me, and similar complaints are very rare.
It is possible that in this case, the launcher needs to be run as an administrator, or the widest possible access to the files in the game folder needs to be granted.
***
Description of all tweaks in the launcher
***
Auto-translated