Of course, you can't. What did you expect?
Pradromalo, what is meant is that you can only start with this specific starting save. If you create another starting save with the same map, the contents of the objects, the skill tree, etc., will change, so you can't do that.
As you progress, you can save as many times as you want and replay the same battle several times to achieve the optimal result. No one ever completes a map offline in one go. I hope I explained it clearly.