Should the battle continue? It seems to me that everything is obvious in the screenshot.
Let them recreate the same situation and finish the game. If they don't want to finish, they lose.
So, is it possible to play a battle however you want? If you make a mistake, you can disconnect, then replay, and then replay again.
It's all fair. They recreate the situation at the moment of disconnection and finish the game.
I can help with the saves, I can create an army for both the attacking and defending player directly in the autosave, so that the armies are as they were at the moment of disconnection.