I think it was mentioned on the forum that there's some kind of automatic registration? If this isn't a joke, then maybe he bought it at some point/activated it, and now it's registering him, but he doesn't remember that it's working/doesn't know how to disable it.
I sold it to him, and I can sell it to you too.

